What your credit score really means

edited 9 January 2019 at 3:57PM in Credit File & Ratings
377 replies 208.8K views

Replies

• zx81zx81 Forumite
    28.3K posts
    Tenth Anniversary 10,000 Posts Photogenic Name Dropper
    ✭✭✭✭✭
    That would be reasonable.  It's not a particularly weird scenario, given you're currently building up arrears.
  • clairek3265clairek3265 Forumite
    1 posts
    First Post
    MoneySaving Newbie
    I am trying to act as guarantor for a house that my daughter is renting with student friends for the 2nd year of University; I am only guarateeing her portion of the rent by the way which is around £500 pcm. The problem is that the "agents" organising this told me in January that my credit check had come back amber; in some emails they say it is "low" so I am not sure what is going on. The response surprised me as I have a subscription with Experian and this puts me at 999, and others also have me in the "good zone". I have looked at Checkmyfile which I think they have used and there are no obvious problems there. I run my own business and my pre-tax profit has been very good for the last 5 years, so income shouldn't be an issue. We have a very low mortgage on our home. I have spoken to the agents many times and they keep saying they are looking into it, and will speak to the landlord but there has been no change. I cannot find out what is causing their data to be different to mine and it is really worrying me. How can I find out what they know that I do not? If there is an error, surely I have a right to be able to correct it? Do they have an obligation to share their report with me? Without this I cannot suggest the best way to deal with the situation and I wonder if this is a way to make us pay all the rent up front? Any thoughts?
  • jazzyjajazzyja Forumite
    132 posts
    100 Posts Second Anniversary Name Dropper