WOW I must be serious this time.....I have a diary

in Debt free diaries
596 replies 43.8K views
Hi all,

Bit long winded, first ever post, bare with me.....

I have read others diaries for years and every Januray I start clearing my credit card and catalogue account, then one of my kids have a birthday or it's Xmas or there is an occasion and I whack it all back on the credit card or order the lot from catalogue. It's a cycle I would like to end.:T

I am 30 years old, married and 3 dependants I have just finished university and started working in my dream job. I managed to scrape through uni without having an overdraft or student account this was through working ridiculous hours but I did have a student bursary and a student loan. :(

My debt Totals just under £5,000.
Vanquis £2717.05 is going to be my first to clear as it's my only debt with interest.
Littlewoods £1092.08 is interest free so will be my second focus.
Student Bursary £1110.21 they overpaid me while I was a student so need to pay that back, again no interest. Currently paying £124 monthly via standing order. Original amount was £2343.
Student loan will start to be taken out of my wages from April. So would like as much of my other debts paid by then.

My weaknesses
Fast food and food at work is my weakness! I'm obsessed with drive throughs. I calculated that I spent £160 on food and take aways just for me from November to December.:eek:
My other weakness is not following my budget, I have one written every month and as long as my direct debits go through and I make my minimum payments I just spend the rest on take outs and ebooks and other luxuries . :( this is a habit I need to stop.

I will do an SOA at some point.