PLEASE READ BEFORE POSTING

Hello Forumites! However well-intentioned, for the safety of other users we ask that you refrain from seeking or offering medical advice. This includes recommendations for medicines, procedures or over-the-counter remedies. Posts or threads found to be in breach of this rule will be removed.

Eating out of the freezer and cupboards challenge - part two

Options

Comments

• Nelski
    Nelski Posts: 15,197 Forumite
    Name Dropper First Post First Anniversary Photogenic
    Options
    Going to join in after realising that as a single person I have an obscene amount of food scattered amongst my 1 large, 1 small freezer and all the kitchen cupboards. My problem is that anything I get out of the freezer seems to generate another 6 portions to go back so as someone else said on here is a never ending story :)

Anyway this year I am determined to clear this food mountain so no buying of anything other than bread, onions and potatoes for me. Just had my first supermarket delivery of the year which consisted mostly of required toiletries and wine :o..... the food part of the shop came to £4.87 and will last a good week probably more :T

Have also done a full food inventory which i have written in a little book along with the list of meals I have eaten (I will never be a good meal planner as I dont fancy what I have planned so instead I just note what I have eaten :) )

Anyway today I have taken out of the freezer some cooked beef and cooked ham from Christmas and a portion of roast potatoes which I am going to have with some very sad looking sprouts I found in a lidl bag in the garage, a bendy leek from the fridge and a slice of bacon. Whats the betting that i end up with another 3 portions of veg to go back in :D

In the same lidl bag mentioned above I found a pack of shallots which I am now pickling so as not to waste . Annoyingly I also found some potatoes so I could have cut my bill today by a big chunk. Hey ho.