Do I need to buy a graduation gift?

Options
Debrac
Debrac Posts: 218 Forumite
Hi everyone, I would appreciate some advice please. My daughter graduates from university in July and I am wondering if it is normal to buy a gift? I remember when I graduated, I didn't receive any gifts/cards but I know times have changed.

Has anyone been in this situation recently?

If you haven’t already, join the forum to reply! [purplesignup][/purplesignup]

Comments

• [Deleted User]
    Options
    When I graduated I got taken out (and treated to) a nice dinner in a restaurant with all the family and a card signed by everyone!

It was more an excuse for everyone to get together than anything else (not that we're a big family).
  • Craftyblue
    Craftyblue Posts: 122 Forumite
    First Anniversary Combo Breaker
    Options
    When I graduated a few years ago my parents bought me a ring. They let me choose it and I really love it. I've never been one for jewellery but it's a lovely thing to have and it's probably the sort of thing I'll pass on if I ever have a daughter.

If your daughter likes that sort of thing and you can afford it then I think that'd be a nice idea.

Hope that helps.
  • hieveryone
    hieveryone Posts: 3,845 Forumite
    Name Dropper First Post Combo Breaker First Anniversary
    Options
    I think it's completely up to you - only you know your situation.

Has your daughter worked particularly hard to get herself a degree and done you proud? Is she the only member of your family to go to uni? Has she overcome a personal hurdle to complete her degree? Is she enthusiastic about her new career since getting her degree?

My mum and dad took me and a friend out to a very nice meal and got me a little Build a Bear graduation teddy and a new diary for starting my new job.

They also got me a Links of London charm (a little graduation hat) which, although I no longer wear, is still very special to me.

Bought is to buy. Brought is to bring.
  • lika_86