Contactless Cards

Options

Comments

• dalesrider
    dalesrider Posts: 3,447 Forumite
    Options

PS is dalesrider a banker?

Yes. I work in banking, in a area that deals with the fallout around what you are so worried about.
    Never ASSUME anything its makes a
    >>> A55 of U & ME <<<
  • dalesrider
    dalesrider Posts: 3,447 Forumite
    Options
    Barclays Bank & I've never come across them before.. first contact!

The first contactless cards in the UK were issued by Barclaycard in 2008...
    Never ASSUME anything its makes a
    >>> A55 of U & ME <<<
  • Hominu
    Hominu Posts: 1,671 Forumite
    Options
    If you think someone is going to read your contactless card whilst its in your pocket then wrap it in tin foil, or just carry two of them next to each other.

If your worried about some thief using it after you lost it then its unlikely. Why spend £20 when its easier to spend far more.

I've carried a contactless card for over 2 years now and never had a fraudulent contactless transaction (or any contactless transaction to be honest, just shoving the card in the machine and entering my pin seems easier than untrained staff arguing with you)
  • Jack_Griffin
    Options
    dalesrider wrote: »
    The first contactless cards in the UK were issued by Barclaycard in 2008...

They did not issue one to me when I opened an a/c with them in 2011, but they did this time.

PS Generally I have lowish blood pressure.. I never get wound up about stuff like this, but I am prepared to stand up for myself & make it clear what I do & don't want.. if only more people complained.....
  • BugsyBrowne
    BugsyBrowne Posts: 5,697 Forumite
    Options
    They did not issue one to me when I opened an a/c with them in 2011, but they did this time.

PS Generally I have lowish blood pressure.. I never get wound up about stuff like this, but I am prepared to stand up for myself & make it clear what I do & don't want.. if only more people complained.....