41 replies 5.9K views
cheepskate_2cheepskate_2 Forumite
1.7K Posts
Part of the Furniture 1,000 Posts Combo Breaker
edited 25 January 2013 at 8:02AM in Over 50s MoneySaving
Hi

Anyone any infor on working with old people and alzheimers

Replies

• Hi. I'm afraid I have no knowledge of alzheimers but maybe the alzheimers society website will have some knoweldge etc for you: http://www.alzheimers.org.uk/
    in terms of practical things that might help and wherer you can help and support.
    Are there any day care support centres near by? Maybe they would be suitable?
    Also in terms of the medication can't you just lock it in a box/safe and not tell him the key code?
    Anyway, I hope others have more ideas and that you get your dad the help and support he (and your family) needs.
    df
    Making my money go further with MSE :j
    How much can I save in 2012 challenge
    75/1200 :eek:
  • edited 24 November 2012 at 11:18AM
    cheepskate_2cheepskate_2 Forumite
    1.7K Posts
    Part of the Furniture 1,000 Posts Combo Breaker
    edited 24 November 2012 at 11:18AM
    Thanks Dancingfairy.
    We did think of a lock /safe etc, but we have had so much problems with carers, i.e not turning up, not asking about meds etc that i dont think it would be a good idea.
    He remembers his normal ones (most of the time) that he has been on for ages, but at moment he has got a new set on top and its these new ones he is having more difficulty with.
    Carers were brought in to oversee his meds originally , but its really hit or miss with them.
  • Have you only had contact with social services? Any help from the NHS? It varies by trust but in some areas the district nurses will help out when people with dementia can't remember to take their medication properly.

Ring your dad's GP, ask to speak to the district nursing team for the area and explain the situation to them. They may or may not be able to help but its worth a try.
  • edited 24 November 2012 at 12:13PM