MFW Diary - Take 1!

Options
Hello! Brand new, squeaky-clean newbie here, although I've been lurking for a while.

A wee bit about myself: from Scotland, live with my partner (hubbie in '14) and had our mortgage since 2009. We are young 'uns(!) and as such don't earn much. My OH works in an industry that's not done well with the recession, he was down to 4-day weeks for a while but managed to get back to a full working week. I am a student and work part-time.

When we first got the mortgage I was a month shy of 20, and we signed up to a 35 year mortgage. Silly, I know. I want to OP as much as possible so we are not in our 50's when it finishes! I worked out that if we OP £100 a month, the mortgage would end 14 years early. :eek:

Mortgage at highest: £58,896
Mortgage currently: £57,282.32
Highest APR: 5.98%
Current APR: 3.99%
OPs since Oct 12: £200

The only other money we owe is a loan for £5,000.
Savings of £1800.

All I can think of just now! Looking forward to updating this diary :)

Comments

• edinburgher
    edinburgher Posts: 13,463 Forumite
    Name Dropper First Anniversary First Post
    Options
    Welcome aboard, lots of luck for your MFW quest :)
  • gallygirl
    gallygirl Posts: 17,228 Forumite
    Name Dropper First Anniversary First Post Mortgage-free Glee!
    Options
    Not another Jock :doh: (exiled one here :cool:).

Good luck - you've very switched on for such a child :D.
    A positive attitude may not solve all your problems, but it will annoy enough people to make it worth the effort
    :) Mortgage Balance = £0 :)
    "Do what others won't early in life so you can do what others can't later in life"
  • Calfuray
    Calfuray Posts: 1,003 Forumite
    Uniform Washer
    Options
    Thanks guys :)

gallygirl, what did you do to be exiled?