IMPORTANT: Please make sure your posts do not contain any personally identifiable information (both your own and that of others). When uploading images, please take care that you have redacted all personal information including QR codes, number plates and reference numbers.

CPS Midlands parking ticket

Options
Hi, I'm a newbie to the site, am looking for some advice please ?

I have received a parking fine from CPS midlands ltd & are trying to charge me £125.00 for parking in a street parking area where for 6 years you could park freely. But now they are slapping fines on anybody without a permit in about 5 or 6 parking bays. They even slapped one on a securities van which was parked outside a shop for minutes whilst collecting cash. I have done a bit of research on the web & a lot of people say do not pay & mention contract law. On inspection of the area on returning to my parked car ( 5 other vehicles had also been done) there were signs placed on lamposts a good 8 foot high, when i am driving I tend to keep my eye on the road & surrounding areas, not looking up lamposts.
Has anybody else been hit by these cowboys ??

Comments

• bazster
    bazster Posts: 7,436 Forumite
    Combo Breaker First Post
    Options
    Have you got a "Penalty Charge Notice" (carrying council details as well as CPS' details), or a "Parking Charge Notice" payable to CPS?

If it's the latter, just file it and forget it, and do the same with anything else you receive from them and any cockroach debt collectors or fake solicitors who write to you.

If the former, appeal it or pay it.
    Je suis Charlie.
  • ppc_guy
    ppc_guy Posts: 412 Forumite
    Options
    From experience ignore Mr Alain Hutton. I think he uses Debt recovery plus but they can be ignored too and have a ream of thread on here,
    Hi, we’ve had to remove your signature. If you’re not sure why please read the forum rules or email the forum team if you’re still unsure - MSE ForumTeam
  • BASFORDLAD