business plan for a small cafe, what would it need?

Options
hi
I'm new to this particular forum but have been on a few others for a while now.
iv had a search through other peoples posts about starting up a cafe but haven't really found an answer, but I have founds some very good advice.

ill give a little background:
me and my partner are looking to set up our own cafe and at the moment we are in the 'get all the info we can' stage. he has been a chef in many different catering sectors for over 12 years now and can run the kitchen side of things with his eyes shut :-) we have both ran a cafe before for someone else, although he took care of the business side of things and this is where we seem to be coming unstuck!
we live in a tourist area and have done our whole lives and so we know that keeping the locals is key to the success here, there is a very hostile response towards most businesses in the area and rightfully so, many grossly over charge as in the summer the tourists are often deemed 'easy targets' and so the locals end up suffering too.

iv been on every business website going and my head is spinning with all the bits of information I have been given! and most of it seems to be for larger businesses than ours will be or for those on-line.

and so, enough rambling, my question is what do I need to put in my business plan?

any advice will be greatly appreciated, both on the subject and on anything else you can think of :-)

thank you for taking the time to read
wedding planning again, this time nothing will stop me :-):A

Comments

• paddyrg
    paddyrg Posts: 13,543 Forumite
    Options