Vala's frugal journey to be MF!!

in Mortgage-Free Wannabe
152 replies 14.7K views
Hi All,

I feel this is an odd time to start a MFW diary as I have been starting to get into the MFW for about 6 months now but have mainly been a lurker but geting very excited over everybodies posts and how much people are able to save and over pay.

A little bit of info about me - I am 27 and me and my OH bought our first house together with a mortgage of £110000 in 2010 with a fixed interest for 2 years, we have now come off the fixed rate as of April/May this year and have been able to start overpaying, luckily as and when we want using internet banking. After a meeting with the lovely lady in HSBC she showed me that if we continued paying the same figure that we had been doing whilst we were on a fixed rate, there would be an overpayment of around £132 a month, this meant there were no changes to the amount we would be paying off and if things stayed the same rates wise (which I know they wont but still) it could take 8 years off our MFD (currently March 2040 :eek: )

So this equals me super excited, scrambling round everything that goes out of our joint account to try and find some extra pennies to put on the overpayment which we have been lucky to carry on sticking to and im gradually coaxing the OH round to this way of thinking. Unfortunately our joint account has taken a bit of a battering due to DIY jobs etc so August may be the first month we wont actually make the over payment so we can build up the fund we have in there.

To make things a little more difficult (but in a good way :p ) We are planning on getting married in June 2013 and paying for it ourselves (so I am also a DIY wedding MSE'er - I apologise now if you get any weddingy mse stuff on here) So we are managing to save £200 each a month to go into a 'Wedding Fund', since being able to make overpayments part of me cant wait to be married just so we can start putting that towards the mortgage :o