Glow Worm boiler any good?

Options
Hi,

We are having our old Potterton boiler replaced this summer, and the first quote we've got is for a Glow Worm. We picked the fitter from checkatrade as we didn't know anyone (just moved to the area last year), but we've never heard about this make before.. is it good? We don't mind spending a bit more on another brand.

The model the fitter suggested is
Glow Worm 18 HX High Efficiency Condensing Boiler

Many thanks!

Comments

• London50
    London50 Posts: 1,850 Forumite
    Name Dropper First Post First Anniversary
    Options
    Hi
    While I cannot comment on the choise of boiler I can tell you that from the mid 1960 through towards the end of the 1980 I worked in the builder merchants trade and over those years we sold many Glow Worm boilers without anyone {either customers or fitters} complaining or stating that there was any problem with them. I now I am going back a long time but if the past record I remember is anything to go by I do not think you will have any problem with the boilers

London50
  • gas4you
    gas4you Posts: 2,602 Forumite
    Options
    Don't fit a Glow Worm.

Look at the Worcester Ri series.
  • bris
    bris Posts: 10,548 Forumite
    First Post First Anniversary Name Dropper
    Options
    Glow worm is at the budget end of the boiler world, so it depends on the quote you are getting and if you can up the budget.
    If you find you are being quoted quite high then you should expect a more recognised boiler for the money.
  • southcoastrgi
    southcoastrgi Posts: 6,298 Forumite
    First Anniversary Name Dropper Photogenic First Post
    Options