We've changed the name of this board from 'Greenfingered MoneySaving' to simply 'Gardening'. This is to help make it easier to find for the horticulturally inclined. The URL remains unchanged for the time being, so all links to the board are unaffected.

Grown our own, complete novice questions

Options

Comments

• Eenymeeny
    Eenymeeny Posts: 2,015 Forumite
    First Anniversary Photogenic First Post
    Options
    Start looking at containers in a different way. After moving house I found that I had extra plastic storage boxes. (The kind you get for about a fiver for 3 at Poundstretcher etc) I got OH to drill holes in the bottom and have planted carrots. salad leaves and spring onions in them. I can put them in a nice, neat row alongside my shed (Sorry, tidyness is one of my issues!:o) and I can move them if I think they need more sunshine or shade. I know that they'll probably break down eventually but they were going spare anyway...
    You'll get lots of other helpful advice on here, good luck, please keep us updated. Nice to hear of the kids being involved.:)
    The beautiful thing about learning is nobody can take it away from you.
    Thanks to everyone who contributes to this wonderful forum. I'm very grateful for the guidance and friendliness that I always receive from you.
    :A:beer:
    Please and Thank You are the magic words;)
  • Fay
    Fay Posts: 1,031 Forumite
    First Anniversary Combo Breaker First Post
    Options
    Hi again Nicola...you can also use recycling boxes and bags as containers, if you have any spare. There is an article in this months gardeners world by Alys Fowler about ideas for compact plots-she uses the guttering idea for salad, she also suggests using your front garden and growing crops in with your flowers. Some of her ideas are really pretty.