We've changed the name of this board from 'Greenfingered MoneySaving' to simply 'Gardening'. This is to help make it easier to find for the horticulturally inclined. The URL remains unchanged for the time being, so all links to the board are unaffected.

Grown our own, complete novice questions

Options

Comments

• nicola00
    nicola00 Posts: 337 Forumite
    First Post First Anniversary Combo Breaker
    Options
    so in between the miserable weather we managed to get in the Vegetable Patch - Onions, Garlic& Spring Onions :j and strawberry hanging basket is up...... go me with the power tools lol

Peas to follow this week, can't decide what would be better, the trellis or Net & Canes
    Think I seen wooden trellis in poundshop last week, don't know what it will be like though

Also got 3 large bags of compost from Asda for £10, will use these for another planter of potatoes and a bag of carrots

I have also started digging around the shed to lay slabs for the girls outdoor toys, hopefully that way I'll get my decked area back. Going with the weather this week should have this done by the time the summer actually comes.
    Managed to get some slabs on freecycle, well I collect them tomorrow so hoping there all good to use, then its just getting the old arms and legs going to get the area dug and leveled
  • nicola00
    Options
    Everything's starting to sprought, what now??

How long should I leave them before moving to the larger tubs
  • tim_n
    tim_n Posts: 1,607 Forumite
    Options
    Leave them in until the risk of frost in your area has passed otherwise the less hardy will perish

Then over a course of a week or two aclimatise them by putting them outside the back door during the day and bringing them in at night

then plant out. Good luck. You can speed this up by using plastic bottle cloches. Don't forget to water though.