Website building - pls help!

Options
Hey peeps!

I'm a self-employed sole trader in nails, beauty and holistic therapies, currently toying with the idea of - finally - setting myself up a website.

Anyhoo, just wanted your advice on the cheapest way of doing it, whilst still keeping a professional image.

Any advice greatly appreciated.

Many thanks!

G. x

Comments

• WhiteLily_2
    Options
    Hi

I am in same dilemma as you. I've just purchased Mr Site Takeaway Website from PC World for £24.99 (using their on line collect instore offer) and within one hour had my own domain name up and running. That's the easy bit - the next bit of being creative and getting to the top of search engines etc may need some help - but I still reckon it can be achieved relatively cheaply if you know a student or friend that is more familiar with web site design etc to guide you.

Good luck!
  • martindow
    martindow Posts: 10,221 Forumite
    Name Dropper First Post First Anniversary
    Options
    There are two sides to web site design. The first is the appearance and professional look of the site and the second is producing a site that is optimised to get listed well in search engines and these are not the same. There is no point in having a beautiful site that nobody ever finds.

There are various fairly basic things that need to be done for a site to get good listings in Google, etc - good titles and content with regular use of keywords, using h1 tags and having clean coding for example. Some template based web site systems make lovely looking sites but have bloated coding and give you no control over things that you would want to determine.