Teacher gifts x 10!! Ideas please

Replies

• hay77 wrote: »
    Hi all

I am a teacher in a primary school and one of the greatest gifts I received was a hand made thank you card that the child and parent had written in. The parent thanked me for working with her child and told me that she now enjoys maths. The child wrote about a particular part of the year that she had enjoyed. It made my day and I still have the card. It is the thought that counts, not the amount of money spent.

It is always these gifts that are appreciated most. A thank you note (especially from a parent rather than a child made to write it) is really valued. We very rarely get a thank you, and even more rarely, get told we have made a difference to somebody's child. This sort of thing would amke a teacher's year.

The nicest gift I've ever received from one of my pupils (apart from the clubbed together John Lewis vouchers!) was a miniature bottle of wine, mini box of chocs, bath salt sachet, tealight and a little handwritten poem explaining what stress or care each was a solution for. Absolutely fab, and not very expensive at all.
  • Guinea_2Guinea_2 Forumite
    505 Posts
    I am a primary school teacher and I would support the people who say that any child made gift is the best. Since becoming a teacher I have kept every single one of the hand made cards or gifts (as long as they've not been perishable as I've eaten those!!) The extra special ones are those that the children have written in with a little message and also the parent. A thank you goes a long way.
    Yes, I do understand that we are "just doing our jobs" but, like I say, a thank you goes a long way WHATEVER job you do.
    :love: Baby Bump born 4th March 2010! :kisses:
  • bylromarhabylromarha Forumite
    10.1K Posts
    I've been Money Tipped!