'The word pedants' top 10 | It's specific, not Pacific...' blog discussion.

edited 4 April 2011 at 12:13PM in Martin's Blogs & Appearances & MoneySavingExpert in the News
771 replies 56K views

Replies

• Here's one I'm guilty of - "I need to itch my back" rather than "I need to scratch my back". Even worse I'm a Literacy tutor!
  • lmuk2k wrote: »
    "Can I have a coffee please?" is now pretty rare.

Probably for the best, since "May I have..." would actually be correct.
  • NIgailNIgail Forumite
    4 Posts
    Eighth Anniversary Combo Breaker
    MoneySaving Newbie
    I think it's a N.Ireland thing but when waiting to be served anywhere your asked "Are you getting?" I cringe every time!
  • Admittedly, some people just don't know any better but you do have to be careful before you judge someone for how they speak (or type). When I was very little, I had a lisp and couldn't pronounce 'sp' sounds at all. I used to call 'Spot, the dog' 'Stot, the dog' and once dragged my grandma all over the local market looking for a 'stud' (why I wanted a spud at the age of 4 or 5, I'll never know...:D). It took me years of saying 's-pacific' before I could pronounce 'specific' properly.

Also, I speak with a relatively broad Yorkshire accent, which waxes and wanes depending on the accent of the person I'm speaking to and the social situation I'm in. Most people's accents aren't that flexible but mine was self-taught after years of bullying for sounding 'posh'. Which had the double effect of making me embarrassed when I say anything vaguely intelligent, so I tend to use words like 'like' out of fear of further abuse for being 'a swot'. Six years have passed since I left that school but old habits die hard. So what I'm trying to say is, think before you judge people because it's doubtful that you know the full story.
    Kayleigh
    PS Any grammatical mistakes above, I genuinely don't know about. I've triple-checked and I can't see any.