'The word pedants' top 10 | It's specific, not Pacific...' blog discussion.

Comments

• beesleg
    beesleg Posts: 6 Forumite
    KimYeovil wrote: »
    Oi, we're here moaning about British English. 90%* of the decimation is caused by you Yanks so swan off to your own board.

(Uhm, :), btw)

*(Ha ha! Had to type '90%' because I could not remember off the top of my head whether it should be 'percent', 'per cent' or 'per-cent'. :rotfl:)
    Oops! as someone else has already said in this blog, when we begin to sound off about misuse of the English language we frequently make a mistake ourselves. As a newbie I must remember to check my spelling in future.
    More than £2000 in interest earned this year, directly attributable to advice from MSE
  • One that has recently stunned me was the amount of people in our office who call a drawer a draw.
  • billieboy wrote: »
    My pet hate is "somethink" instead of "something". I'm absolutely amazed at the times I hear this on the television :(.

As with the above this also bothers me and used on TV alot ' I don't want nothin (nufink)' when should be saying 'I dont want anything'
  • beesleg
    At our local gym a sign advises us to "Use the Turnstyles when leaving"
    More than £2000 in interest earned this year, directly attributable to advice from MSE
  • caroline.
    caroline. Posts: 54 Forumite
    People think I'm petty with this one, but I can't stand it when people say 'p' instead of 'pence'. Especially on adverts!! I always shout 'PENCE' at the television!
  • beesleg
    edited 4 April 2011 at 1:39PM
    dancingmel wrote: »
    As with the above this also bothers me and used on TV alot ' I don't want nothin (nufink)' when should be saying 'I dont want anything'

grammar-monster .com

The word alot does not exist in the English language. ;)
  • nikki1520
    nikki1520 Posts: 510
    First Post First Anniversary Combo Breaker
    Forumite