Odd telephone call from First Credit Limited

Options

Comments

• tiddles93
    Options
    As long as you haven't been paying them or been in contact with them since 1995, then it's statute barred.........Ignore them, they won't take you to court!
  • incubus
    incubus Posts: 1 Newbie
    edited 27 November 2010 at 1:55PM
    Options
    So just to allay peoples fears on here, I got a letter from them this morning. I called them and asked where they had obtained my details, they said 'from a trace'. They then tried to confirm a previous address of mine (which was wrong, it had some elements right eg right name but wrong 'type', e.g. blake road instead of blake street), I wouldn't confirm or deny it, and they kept trying to ask in different ways, but I know their game - I work in IT and handle sensitive information, I'm very aware of what I give away over the phone. They didn't have my phone number and I only confirmed the address they'd sent to - nothing else - and when I pressed them for more information they wouldn't even disclose their client and terminated the call on me. They're just fishing.

To rest my mind I logged in and got an updated creditexpert report, its all green and my rating is 999 "excellent", so to me that sounds like theyve harvested my details from somewhere. Getting paranoid, I also updated my report with equifax - my rating is excellent there as well. I did have some bad debts back when I was a student (circa 1998-2001) and I paid off all the ones that appeared on my credit report back then. Since then, got a mortgage, maintain credit cards and loans perfectly. If they have gone gravedigging some ancient debts, more fool them. They'll not be getting anything out of me :)

Bunch of amateurs.

Can only echo what everyone else above has said - if the debt is older than 6 years, they're just fishing and can't affect your credit rating.

Mike.
  • jackywhizz
    Options