Great 'what do you pay more for if you're poor?' Hunt

Comments

• The last time I had cause to look this up over 4 million households did not run a car and 13 million did not have the internet, out of approximately 25 million households in the UK.

I applaud MSE for taking on this kind of thing, especially as most people on low incomes are effectively excluded from the internet so they are not around for us to hear from them directly.
  • misscoupon
    misscoupon Posts: 563 Forumite
    First Anniversary Name Dropper Combo Breaker First Post
    edited 17 November 2010 at 8:44PM
    Alex30 wrote: »
    Prescriptions cost a fortune if you can't afford to buy a pre-payment. As a student I couldn't afford a prepayment as I was paying out up to £60 a month for prescriptions so couldn't afford to save up for the pre-payment but myself and my partner were earning too much between us to qualify for any help. Fortunately this is no longer the case for me but I know other people who are in the same boat as I was and it's frustrating.
    Hi, if you can set up a direct debit, there is the option to pay the PPC in monthly instalments, which spreads the cost over the year. This is what my partner uses and it works out at £11/month. Here is a link for more information http://www.nhsbsa.nhs.uk/1127.aspx.
    :grinheart It's Mrs Coupon now - saving and comping my way to a brighter future :grinheart
  • eadieb
    eadieb Posts: 238 Forumite