I can't quite believe it's got this bad

Comments

• I'm no expert on this (yet:sad:) but isn't there something you can do about the CSA assessment? I presume that their assessment is based on your ex having total custody. If you house your kids three nights each week, can't you apply for maintenance from her, however little that turns out to be, dependent on her circumstances? Obviously, you would need to tread carefully, but in the circumstances, you might well be entitled to nearly half of your money back.

Just as obviously, if you already have a private arrangement to do just that, then there is nothing to be gained.
  • Hi Talheedin

Been there - done that! After a messy divorce I personall ran up over £40,000 unsecured debt in 1 year! (1999) What was I doing!!

CCCS and very supportive friends helped sort me out.

DO NOT SECURE UNSECURED DEBT, OR RE-STRUCTURE IT WITH ANY OF THE MISERABLE LENDERS YOU OWE MONEY TO. THEY WILL NOT ACTUALLY HELP.

A CCCS DMP has the HUGE benefit of FREEZING THE INTEREST CHARGES (assuming the lenders agree). This means instead of paying hundreds of pounds per month in interest you will actually reduce your debt by MORE hundreds of pounds! So . . . .
    Go ahead and open a seperate current account then WRECK YOUR CREDIT RATING!! you want no more debt again ever!! There are lenders out there that once things have settled down will still lend you money (just - do you want to borrow any?).

Also - be honest with the CCCS and express your concerns at some of your income being variable. Interpret your figures for them and discuss what you can afford and why. Theworst thing you can do is to mess up the DMP - where do you go after that?

Work with CCCS and ride the next 3 months of threatening letters from your creditors BUT KEEP THE TOKEN £1 MONTHLY PAYMENTS GOING!! They WILL roll over and accept what the CCCS advise them to accept.