severn trent water, single help

me and my ex split up last year. but i have continued to pay the amounts on the payment schedule. the problem is she is a joint name on the bill

so i was wondering if i rang them up, and took her off (which i will do any way)

can i get the water amounts reduced??? as im living on my own.

and how is it reduced?

for eg is it a reduced rate per litre or the same rate per litre but it goes off what i actually use etc

Comments

• deanos
    deanos Posts: 11,223 Forumite
    First Post First Anniversary Uniform Washer
    You pay the same no matter how many people are in the house
  • i am a consultant for stw, and the above poster is correct, you pay the bill for the property, not the ammount of people.
  • Hello

It all depends on whether you can have a water meter fitted. If you live by yourself and a water metre can't be fitted at your property you can apply for the single person occupancy rate. You need to provide evidence that you live alone and sign a form, and STW has to have put your property down as not being able to fit a water meter. I am on this rate and it works out a bit cheaper. Saying all that, if you do live by yourself and you can have a water meter fitted, and don't have water leaks or dripping taps etc., a meter should work out cheaper than rates.
  • Cardew
    Cardew Posts: 29,036 Forumite
    Name Dropper First Anniversary First Post Rampant Recycler
    madrhino wrote: »
    Hello