We'd like to remind Forumites to please avoid political debate on the Forum. This is to keep it a safe and useful space for MoneySaving discussions. Threads that are - or become - political in nature may be removed in line with the Forum’s rules. Thank you for your understanding.

University Ruined My Life!

Options

Comments

• nodwah
    nodwah Posts: 1,742 Forumite
    edited 21 September 2009 at 9:19PM
    Options
    Lokolo wrote: »
    That would depend what you apply into.

The job I am going for (and am currently working as a placement student) starts on £27k. I think thats ok for a starting salary for a 22 year old.

That's ok for a 22 year old in law I'm sure but i'm only earning that now at the age of 43 in the NHS after 4 year degree, post grad diploma, MSc and 2 years on the job training before state registration and now we have to constantly jump through more and more CPD hoops just to keep our carppy jobs.

I made a BIG mistake when I studied Biology - I wish I'd done law
    Just call me Nodwah the thread killer
  • brokemedic
    Options
    PFCGino wrote: »
    That said - it's royally screwed me up financially (especially the Masters bit) - but part of that is my fault. I'm not amazing with money anyway, but I still feel that I wouldn't be in half of the debt I'm in now if I was better advised.

The moral of my story is: check check check your options and don't jump the gun. I work hard, so hard it's unreal. I haven't had a good night out in months because I'm either skint or studying (often both), and have made so many cutbacks lately. I'm hoping that promotion is just around the corner though ;)

Join the club.. I thought that's why we were all on here LOL!!