PLEASE READ BEFORE POSTING

Hello Forumites! However well-intentioned, for the safety of other users we ask that you refrain from seeking or offering medical advice. This includes recommendations for medicines, procedures or over-the-counter remedies. Posts or threads found to be in breach of this rule will be removed.

July 2009 Grocery Challenge

Options

Comments

• Little_Muvva
    Little_Muvva Posts: 231 Forumite
    First Post First Anniversary Combo Breaker
    Options
    I'm new to this so going to take it slow! Old habits die hard! I currently spend £115 per week on average so will commit to £110 to start with and see how low I can get it. The saving will be put towards credit card debt of £1,000 which was to pay towards my son's wedding. This means I'm up for £550 this month.
    1/1/10 total debt £4,311. Debt today £1,082
  • carolt2
    carolt2 Posts: 854 Forumite
    First Post First Anniversary
    Options
    Evening all, just popped in to update signature and catch up on threads,

spent a total of £39.03 between home bargains, Mr M and Mr T.
    Managed to get some of the 87p milk from Mr T.
    Was planning on visiting Aldi today but ran out of time, plan to go in next week or so.
    Signature updated.
    'Be kinder than necessary, for everyone you meet is fighting some kind of battle'
  • Toonie
    Toonie Posts: 1,147 Forumite
    First Post Name Dropper First Anniversary I've been Money Tipped!
    Options
    I'm back from my shopping trip and I did quite well. Just for fun, I decided to check how my shopping compares to what I could have got in Sainsbury (where I normally shop).

In Sainsbury
    400g Mediterranean bread-£1.39
    Cherry tomatoes-£0.99
    10 pitta bread-£1.30
    Cucumbers-£2.10
    Houmous-£0.99
    500g Red Lentils-£0.88
    500g popping corn £0.52
    Plum tomatoes-£1.49
    6 large oranges-£2.40
    £12.06

The Turkish supermarket I went to
    400g Sesame seed bread £0.60
    270g plum cherry tomatoes £0.39