Help With Student Loans - HERE!

Options

Comments

• Millyjackson
    Options
    Hi there

I have a degree, completed in 2004 and am now seriously considering retraining in midwifery. That is another undergraduate degree and there are no longer nhs burseries for these courses (kicking myself for not applying last year).

My question is would i qualify for a second student loan? These is no way I can afford to do it otherwise.

Many thanks
  • silvercar
    silvercar Posts: 46,974 Ambassador
    Academoney Grad Name Dropper Photogenic First Anniversary
    Options
    Generally you would not get funding to complete a qualification at the same level as one you already hold. I don't know if the NHS has some leeway on this, given the shortage of nurses/ midwifes.
    I'm a Forum Ambassador on The Coronavirus Boards as well as the housing, mortgages and student money saving boards. I volunteer to help get your forum questions answered and keep the forum running smoothly. Forum Ambassadors are not moderators and don't read every post. If you spot an illegal or inappropriate post then please report it to forumteam@moneysavingexpert.com (it's not part of my role to deal with this). Any views are mine and not the official line of MoneySavingExpert.com.
  • Millyjackson
    Options
    Having spoken to Student Loans on the phone yesterday, there are some courses that were previously eligible for an nhs bursery that are now 'exceptions', meaning that even if it is your second undergraduate degree, you are still able to recieve full student finance.

:)
  • UKSBD
    UKSBD Posts: 797 Forumite
    Name Dropper First Post First Anniversary
    Options
    Am I write in thinking that the student loan is written off after 30 years?

If so does this also apply to the maintenance loan too?

Also, is the interest written off or just the loan?

Does the interest still have to be paid if earning under £21k
  • Lokolo
    Lokolo Posts: 20,861 Forumite
    First Post First Anniversary