PLEASE READ BEFORE POSTING

Hello Forumites! However well-intentioned, for the safety of other users we ask that you refrain from seeking or offering medical advice. This includes recommendations for medicines, procedures or over-the-counter remedies. Posts or threads found to be in breach of this rule will be removed.

Chicken stock to soup

Options
Hi all , just bought two fresh chickens from Mr T , BOGOF. :D
I have frozen one, but want to roast the other for tea.
Ideally I would like to make a chicken soup with the left overs and to make some genuine chicken stock but I have never done this before so could anyone give me some pointers?
Also, can I freeze the stock once made?
I did look in the mega index ,but there is nothing about chicken soup that I could find..:confused:
Thanks all,Sam

Comments

• Rikki
    Rikki Posts: 21,625 Forumite
    Options
    I just strip off all the meat and just boil the bones it in water to make a stock. I use a pressure cooker which is quickest.
    You can freeze the stock as it is and you can use it for different receipes or make it up as soup and freeze it.
    £2 Coins Savings Club 2012 is £4 :).............................NCFC member No: 00005.........

......................................................................TCNC member No: 00008
    NPFM 21
  • samnmalc
    samnmalc Posts: 448 Forumite
    Options
    Thanks Rikki, how long do you boil it for?
    Do you completely cover the carcass in water?

Sorry for all the daft questions............:confused:
  • RacyRed
    RacyRed Posts: 4,930 Forumite
    Combo Breaker First Post
    Options
    here is St Delia on the subject, well it is Turkey soup but it'll convert I'm sure and if you have a slow sooker there are loads HERE icon7.gif
    My first reply was witty and intellectual but I lost it so you got this one instead :D
    Proud to be a chic shopper
    :cool:
  • halloweenqueen_2
    Options