Car price comparison sites

Options

Comments

• hethmar
    hethmar Posts: 10,678 Forumite
    First Post First Anniversary Combo Breaker Car Insurance Carver!
    Options
    Im not very good at pressing for more. Ive been looking at a special edition Verve 207 Peugeot. There is already £1300 off the price and with scrappage that is £3300. Ive been to two different dealers, both have come up with the same price and though Ive hinted quite a bit about throwing in things, like for instance, a dog guard - which is priced at £103, neither have taken the bait.

Im not sure how you negotiate at that point :( Off to see a Golf tomorrow to see whether that overwhelms me so much I forget about the Peugeot, or will it just seem like a lot too much money for a car - hmm.
  • jack_spratt_2
    jack_spratt_2 Posts: 577 Forumite
    Options
    I always say if you do not ask you do not get !!

The way I have worked in the past is find out what you could buy a car from a car Broker !! find out what the trade price for your car is( as your car is a scrappage car this will not apply it is just the scrappage allowance ) !! When you are ready to deal on the car you want phone to make an appointment to see the sales manager and when you see him tell him you are ready to order the car today if they will match the deal you have been offered !! show him you mean business and if he stalls at the price go elsewhere .
    You stand a better chance of the dealer doing the deal if it operates a fleet department !!
    And by the way you should still get a discount on any accessories that are ordered as well
  • hethmar
    Options