PLEASE READ BEFORE POSTING

Hello Forumites! However well-intentioned, for the safety of other users we ask that you refrain from seeking or offering medical advice. This includes recommendations for medicines, procedures or over-the-counter remedies. Posts or threads found to be in breach of this rule will be removed.
We'd like to remind Forumites to please avoid political debate on the Forum. This is to keep it a safe and useful space for MoneySaving discussions. Threads that are - or become - political in nature may be removed in line with the Forum’s rules. Thank you for your understanding.

February Update: What are you growing in 2006

Options

Comments

• wigginsmum
    wigginsmum Posts: 4,150 Forumite
    Options
    This is my first year growing fruit & veg. So far we've planted a stepover apple and a minarette apple, a rhubarb crown still in the shed, summer and autumn raspberries (15 canes in total), a redcurrant, a whitecurrant and a tayberry. Soft fruit is so expensive that it makes sense to have a go at them; had a huge success with blackberry icecream last summer, using free blackberries from the railway embankment at the end of our garden. I've got Ken Muir's book on growing soft fruit and it has very detailed instructions for a novice like me.

This weekend I'll be starting a cut-and-come-again salad bowl, various culinary herbs + some medicinal ones just for interest, wood strawberries, mini Savoy cabbages, mini caulis, and several types of tomatoes (will work out what needs to go in the electric propagators). If it works, I'll have a go at asparagus next year. Thinking of early potatoes in a plastic tub rather than in the ground.
    The ability of skinny old ladies to carry huge loads is phenomenal. An ant can carry one hundred times its own weight, but there is no known limit to the lifting power of the average tiny eighty-year-old Spanish peasant grandmother.
  • Wendrie
    Wendrie Posts: 135 Forumite
    Options