Pay As You Go Advice From A Phone Salesman!

As a phone salesman my comission varies with different networks, however when it comes to Pay as you go phones there is not much difference and therefore i gain so much more satisfaction from saving the customer money. This is therefore just a little advice from me if you are looking to buy a PAYG phone from a shop which offers more than 1 network (phones4u, carphone warehouse, the link). Most phones of which a shop offers on contract and pay as you go are UNLOCKED. So why pay £30 more for a phone because you want it on a specific network when the cheaper version is unlocked!?!?!? Current phones which fit the bill include the Samsung J700, Sony ericsson W595, Samsung u800. There are loads, when you go into the shop ask them to check whether the phone is unlocked, they will be more than happy to use a demo sim card to check. If it is unlocked then buy it on the cheapest network you can find.

Also for all of you PAYG fanatics there is fantastic VALUE FOR MONEY to be had out of the "sim only contracts" which are available on most networks apart from virgin and 3 i believe. The word contract scares a lot of people off but you can CANCEL AT ANY TIME with NO OBLIGATION. i.e. for £20 on some networks you can get 600 minutes (anytime, any network) and unlimited (3000) texts. Now work this out with me:

600 minutes @ 35p = £210
3000 texts @ 10p = £300
Total = £510
You pay = £20
Saving £490 p/m

You can keep your number the only thing is you provide your own phone, but if your making a saving of £490 a month im sure you can afford one. The monthly bill is direct debited from your account and is definitely worth a look at. Any questions feel free to ask and i will do my best to help out!!!

p.s. i know its irelevent but im proud to say i knocked £450 off my car insurance renewal this year... Thanks martin!!! :D

Comments

• pingu
    pingu Posts: 1,467 Forumite
    First Anniversary Combo Breaker
    bit off topic