Can Edinburgher be debt free and a mortgage holder by 30?

edinburgher
edinburgher Posts: 13,457 Forumite
Name Dropper First Anniversary First Post
edited 21 August 2009 at 4:50PM in Debt free diaries
Hey all - I'm a long time lurker on these excellent forums, so let's see if you can all help me on the route to financial stability!

As a result of some pretty poor decisions as a student, I ended up £7-8k in debt. After graduating (with an Arts degree!) I spent a few years in awful jobs before taking a postgraduate course in Library and Information Studies. Now I still have an awful job, but enough money to start tackling my debts! Just kidding, being a librarian has its moments :p

I'd like to pay off my debts and have a mortgage by my 30th birthday (markets allowing). March 2013.

Here is my SOA:

Monthly Income (after tax): £1396.40

Monthly expenditure:

Rent £400
Council Tax £64 This will go down slightly soon as we moved house
Electricity £15
Gas £15
Water rates £10
Telephone £6
Mobile £10
TV licence £14
Internet £5
Food £140 Both gf and I love to cook, it's our main weakness!
Clothing £20
Travel £100
Medical £20 Toiletries
Pet insurance £13.68 I adopted a cat with an ex some years ago, still pay for this.
Contents insurance £7
Life insurance £25 Fixed term savings bond with a friendly society. Not worth cancelling as I'd lose money.
Presents £50 I come from a family of five kids, various other relations etc. etc.
Haircuts £10
Entertainment £20 Wine, meals out and the odd cinema trip.
Holiday £60 We typically go away to Europe for a good week once a year
Savings £125 Good interest account, fixed 'til November. Gf is on a fixed term contract, so this is non-negotiable for our future stability.
Gym £53.95 Can cancel this in July
Prepaid credit card £25 I pay £20 a month to Virgin as part of a wine club. I bet you try and make me give this up!
Charity £2

Unsecured debts:

Overdraft £1053.44 (must pay £24/mth - maybe 1% APR?)