Two Ticks

Options
Hello,

I have recently applied for a job with the NHS.
It is a job I am more than capable of doing and I thought I submitted a bl00dy good application form. I gave examples of my experiences and my job knowledge and I have 17 years experience doing the same thing. I really did think I'd be in with a chance of an interview.

But then again - I am deaf.

I know discrimination is a dirty word and no employer or prospective employer would ever mention any disability as the reason for not progressing any application. However, in the real world it happens all the time.

My question is - the NHS advertise this two ticks system on their job adverts. I think this is supposed to mean all suitable applicants are guaranteed an interview.

Can anyone shed any light on this please? I guess it all comes down to what the NHS deem as suitable - i.e. anything but deaf perhaps??

Comments

• somebody_else
    Options
    In theory anyone who meets the criteria of the job spec is guaranteed an interview, and in theory anyone who can do the job with reasonable adjustments should be appointed.

The get-out, I'm afraid is the word 'reasonable'. It rather depends on what job you would be doing and what adjustments would need to be made to enable you to do the work.

Sorry, that's not much help.
    s/e
  • Holeypockets
    Options
    Well as I lipread very well the only adjustment required would be a typetalk telephone which is in the most part funded by access-to-work. I think I am going to persue them and ask why I was never interviewed. I think their administration has lapsed on this occasion.
  • somebody_else
    Options
    When was the closing date for applications, and on what date were they planning to hold the interviews?