• petchy
    petchy Posts: 135 Forumite
    Options
    they want 349 to come out and fix it
    Cheers Petchy
  • barrymoney
    Options
    Hi-
    On the phone, did they say it was likely a PCB problem? or is 349 their price for any call-out? From what I read, pcb 5111603 is the new model -- its usually the old pcb models that have the lock-out issues -- yours was already replaced. BTW, does the receipt say who replaced the PCB, and when? Anyway, perhaps you can get an independent engineer to check it out and see if its something simpler (cheaper) than pcb in this case.
    EDIT: I think the amber flashing, on the newer PCBs, is not a lock-out per se, its something else?

PS I am not an engineer or anything (but, based on the price of these things, I wish I was..! )
  • petchy
    Options
    hey, they didn't mention & wouldn't say what the fault is! The PCB was replaced in dec 04 at a cost of 237!
    I don't think its a lockout! its just really odd!
    would you recommend maybe signing up for a british gas/E.ON boiler cover plan?
    Cheers Petchy
  • barrymoney
    Options
    Yeah, brand new PCB are really expensive. Thats probably part of the reason those repair fees are high, to cover it.
    Hmm, personally, in your case I would try to get a good independent corgi-registered chap to take a look for a more reasonable fee, it could be just a valve or setting etc and the repair could be cheap-ish. I suppose a service plan gives you piece of mind, but I have resisted going for those myself.
  • totalnovice
    Options
    Hi All

Just encountered the same problem over recent weeks with a Potterton Suprema 50 (Lock outs, every hour or so, red flashing light, but does fire up when reset and runs fine for a while) - everything I have read suggests that this is the PCB and I am prepared to give it a go at replacing - certainly not my field but I do have a degree of common sense - but have a couple of questions I hope someone may answer: