MMD: Should you take the kids out of school for a holiday?

Options

Comments

• shellsuit
    shellsuit Posts: 24,749 Forumite
    First Post Photogenic First Anniversary Combo Breaker
    Options
    hjdx wrote: »
    Ok, so I'm a teacher. Clearly you're going to know which way I fall on this. But still, a few thoughts to stir up the pot.

If you think its ok for your children to miss 10 days of school, can I have the next two weeks off then? Sure I've got 24 Reception children, but you'll cover me right? I mean, you have the necessary university qualifications, a year of probation, and have 6 years of teaching experience to know what to do with my class right? I'll get a cheap holiday, and I'm sure your children "won't suffer" if I leave them in an empty room for 10 days ..... <sarcasm off>

Why is it seen that a holiday abroad is a "right" nowadays?

Quality time with your family can happen here, and does not have to be done in a two week stretch.

If you take you children out of school during term time you tell them that school is not important. By your actions, you're doing that without even saying a work.

Two of my RECEPTION class are on holiday right now. When they come into school finally later in the term they'll have missed the easy sloping in of the staggard start, and they'll have missed direct teaching on 8 letter sounds. And they won't easily catch them up. They'll have a hard time, making them stressed and upset, and they'll not have made friends when all the other children were making friends.

Fine, the example has children at 8 and 10, so my experience does not apply directly.

Sure, school is not the be all and end all, but we ALL have things we don't understand from school because we were off, or ill, or not paying attention.