MMD: Should you take the kids out of school for a holiday?

Options

Comments

• weesiecodal
    Options
    Lilyfae wrote: »
    As a teacher I find this highly hilarious.

At 8 and 10 a week away from school will have negative consequences as the primary curriculum particularly in maths and english are tightly packed and primary schools sadly operate a teaching culture of once the page in the book is done, its done. (regardless of whose precious children are in majorca or dubai or wherever)

As a secondary teacher, I see kids lolling in three weeks into september/january/may burnt to a crisp as parents have taken them on cheap vacations at the start of new terms, these kids usually can't catch up, often they don't want to catch up, and nine times out of ten don't want to pay attention because they want to show off their tan/braids/henna tattoo/cheap jewellery they shouldn't be wearing in the first place.

From what I have seen, these kids cannot concentrate and get back into the swing of things for a further week or so, usually due to the jet-lag/lazyitis.
    This is serious detriment to a child's education which isn't about listing off the countries of Europe or their times table, its getting into patterns and learning the skills to interpret the world around them.

I'm not saying every parent that takes their child away in school time is incapable of teaching their children these skills and about the local culture, however I think that people are very naive and condescending towards what schools do for their children.

Oh and btw I would love to take holidays! I can't afford to go in the summer but I'm not allowed to take time out of school because a week away would damage your children's education.

My goodness. You sound particularly downhearted and negative. I think you need a holiday!
  • hermoine_2
    Options
    Def take them out of school, we all need a holiday and it is educational to go abroad or even to different parts of the uk

H
  • tiredredhead