BSM driving school - waste of money

Options

Comments

• missworks2jobs
    Options
    I learned from a local independent instructor (word of mouth) he'd been recommended and I passed second time after about 50 lessons (but I did have a long wait - 3months inbetween my 1st and 2nd test, that was the earliest re-test I could get, obviously picked a busy time). I did not have a car at home to "practice" in so literally all my driving time was with my instructor in lessons. I took a little longer than my friends & family had but I believe I'm a confident and safe driver now.

I only have one close friend who learned through BSM and she nicknamed them "Bring Some Money" as they were more expensive than the independent instructors and her lessons seemed to drag on and on for ages when she personally felt ready to take her test.
  • Savvy_Sue
    Savvy_Sue Posts: 46,061 Forumite
    Name Dropper First Post First Anniversary
    Options
    It surprises me that people do pick an instructor other than by personal recommendation. DS1 asked a friend, when DS2 came to learn that one had given up so he asked another friend, then DS3 used the same instructor. Just to balance the negative comments, by the time DS3 started his instructor was under some part of the BSM umbrella, however we still contacted him direct and paid him direct. I don't know how many lessons DS3 had, but it seemed like far fewer than his brothers, and he's the only one who passed first time!
    Signature removed for peace of mind
  • tiptopdrivers
    Options
    As with any service you wish to use it usually pays to undertake some research.

I currently work in the driver training profession and the overwhelming majority of approved driving instructors (ADI's) are self employed and as with any profession there will always be people who find varying levels of quality service.