Your browser isn't supported
It looks like you're using an old web browser. To get the most out of the site and to ensure guides display correctly, we suggest upgrading your browser now. Download the latest:

Welcome to the MSE Forums

We're home to a fantastic community of MoneySavers but anyone can post. Please exercise caution & report spam, illegal, offensive or libellous posts/messages: click "report" or email forumteam@.

Search
  • FIRST POST
    • powerful_Rogue
    • By powerful_Rogue 30th Sep 16, 10:00 AM
    • 2,774Posts
    • 3,987Thanks
    powerful_Rogue
    Private transfer never arrived
    • #1
    • 30th Sep 16, 10:00 AM
    Private transfer never arrived 30th Sep 16 at 10:00 AM
    Just after a quick bit of advice please.

    Private return transfers booked from airport to hotel in Turkey.

    Return journey paperwork said the taxi will arrived at 1905hrs to take is to the airport for a 2245hrs departure. Journey time is 93 minutes from hotel to airport.

    Waited outside hotel at 1845hrs. Was a car sat there and he looked at us and said "Willaims?", which wasn't us or anyway close to our name.

    15 minutes later the car is still there, and we noticed amongst many signs in the windscreen, one of them said "A2B" - Who our travel was booked with. Went over and showed him the paperwork from A2B, which he looked at and said "No".

    Come 1920hrs, still no vehicle has turned up for us, and as the paperwork said to wait 15 minutes, we called one of the numbers in which there was no answer. Called a second number and the person was very abrupt. Said a car had been waiting, no one and turned up and we would have to make our own way to the airport. Tried explaining about the "Willaims" car but to no avail.

    Hotel called us a taxi whilst I called the 24hr UK number. VBery helpful lady who said I would have to get a taxi, which turned up whilst on the phone. Was trying to talk to her and sort out the price etc with the driver who spoke no English and I spoke no Turkish.

    Got to the airport, but time was now extremely tight. Driver dropped us off outside the entrance in the road. Tried asking for a receipt, even using mime, but to no avail. As traffic was building up, he jumped in the taxi and left.

    So £100 for the taxi trip, however due to no receipt, A2B can't help. Lady I spoke to this morning was the same person I spoke to last night and was very helpful and said she remembered be talking to the taxi driver whilst on the phone to her.

    Any advice or simply a LBA / Small claims court?
    Last edited by powerful_Rogue; 30-09-2016 at 10:39 AM. Reason: Correct time
Page 3
    • powerful_Rogue
    • By powerful_Rogue 16th Oct 16, 8:56 PM
    • 2,774 Posts
    • 3,987 Thanks
    powerful_Rogue
    Section 75 if you have a claim against the supplier, you have a "like" claim against the creditor - meaning that yes, they'd be liable for losses incurred due to breach of contract and wouldn't be able to limit their liability to the portion actually paid for the transfers.

    Read case 86/05 found here:
    http://www.financial-ombudsman.org.uk/publications/ombudsman-news/86/86-consumer-credit.htm
    Originally posted by unholyangel
    Your a star! Thank you

    Will get in touch with Barclaycard
    • DoaM
    • By DoaM 16th Oct 16, 9:09 PM
    • 1,009 Posts
    • 918 Thanks
    DoaM
    Expect a fight, or at least or fair degree of intransigence until they finally accept that they actually DO have some S75 liability.
    Diary of a madman
    Walk the line again today
    Entries of confusion
    Dear diary, I'm here to stay
    • powerful_Rogue
    • By powerful_Rogue 16th Oct 16, 9:10 PM
    • 2,774 Posts
    • 3,987 Thanks
    powerful_Rogue
    Expect a fight, or at least or fair degree of intransigence until they finally accept that they actually DO have some S75 liability.
    Originally posted by DoaM
    Thanks DoaM. Fully expecting a battle, but armed with the link Unholyangel posted I can throw that at them.
    • powerful_Rogue
    • By powerful_Rogue 17th Oct 16, 5:06 PM
    • 2,774 Posts
    • 3,987 Thanks
    powerful_Rogue
    Prior to finding out about the S75 advice above, I sent Sunshine the following email -

    Thank you for the reply and attachments.


    Looking at the GPS report, am I right in thinking that the car that was supposed to collect us was outside at 1835hrs?

    Did the car that apparently collected the Williams arrived at 1755hrs and leave at 1825hrs as per their GPS report?


    I have made in perfectly clear in my original complaint and also when I spoke to the emergency number that evening that as soon as we went outside, there was a white vehicle with an A2B sign looking for passengers called Williams. How would I know this if I wasn't waiting outside 20 minutes before our scheduled departure time? This fits in perfectly with the 1835hrs arrival, however the vehicle clearly had the wrong name, so wouldn't take us.


    As we seem to not be getting much further, especially with the very short responses from the supplier, can you please advise of the next stage of escalation. If there is no further stage, then I have no other option then to compose and send a "Letter Before Action" before filing a claim with the Small Claims Court so they can decide the matter on the balance of probabilities.


    I take note of the blurb in your last response, so can you please advise who I would have to issue proceedings against. I am under the impression that because I booked and paid Sunshine.co.uk this would be against yourselves, however what you have stated contradicts that. If that is the case, please can you explain why. If I am correct, please can you supply your head office address for documents to be sent to.


    Regards
    and

    Further to my last email, upon contacting A2B Transfers upon our return, they stated that as one leg of the private transfer had not been used, they was going to refund that half of the payment. However, that payment has not been received and it appears it wouldn't have because I paid Sunshine.co.uk


    Can you advise whether this has been refunded to yourselves and needs to be passed along, or can you clarify how we are going to receive this refund from A2B.


    Please note the complaint is regarding the additional £100 spent to get a taxi due to them not collecting us, and not the refund of half the fee, however surly this would act as some of admission on their part.


    Regards
    Had the following email today which seems a bit more promising. Will see how this pans out before contacting Barclaycard.

    Thank you very much for your further correspondence.

    We are not satisfied with the supplier response to date, therefore we have requested further information in order to provide a comprehensive response for you.

    With regards to the refund, we have requested written confirmation of this and once received we will arrange an immediate refund to you, which will be returned to the card registered to your account.

    With regards to taking it further, the next step would be to contact ABTA, however this would only really be suitable once we've exhausted all avenues with the supplier.

    Consequently as an ABTA bonded Travel Agent we have an obligation to provide you with their response, or a reply containing an explanation for any delay in responding, no later than 28 days from today. However given the circumstances, I have requested that your case is fast tracked. Please be advised that your case has now been escalated to management and therefore we aim to provide you with the suppliers response, or a reply containing an explanation for any delay in responding, no later than the 21st October 2016.

    sunshine.co.uk acts as disclosed retail agent for all suppliers at all times.

    Thank you once again for your continued patience and I will email you again as soon as possible.

    Kind regards
    • mattyprice4004
    • By mattyprice4004 18th Oct 16, 11:26 AM
    • 3,375 Posts
    • 2,764 Thanks
    mattyprice4004
    Wow, I can't believe they haven't just refunded and taken it up with their supplier.
    I interviewed with a large holiday / flight supplier, and the emphasis was always very much on 'we make sod all as a percentage, so don't screw up or you'll probably lose your job'.

    Although they keep saying they're not responsible, you paid them - I'm not sure a court would uphold that they weren't culpable for the mistake.
    I think the evidence supplied so far is pretty damning!
    Drives - MG ZT-T CDTi Auto
    Owns - Nothing, yet! House hopefully in a few years
    Gluten free as of 11/06/14!
    • powerful_Rogue
    • By powerful_Rogue 18th Oct 16, 2:43 PM
    • 2,774 Posts
    • 3,987 Thanks
    powerful_Rogue
    Had a nice email back from the hotel today.

    Hello again,
    We are sorry to inform you that as our privacy policy we do not share any information to the thirth parties.
    Our CCTV records are deleted automatically in 30 days.
    But if you describe yourself for us where exactly you were standing between these hours you mentioned
    and what you were wearing to be detected by which camera(s) you were being recorded that day
    you were supposed to be picked up, we may find and keep the records in case to deliver to law courts
    or relevant authorities if necessary.

    Best Regards
    I've sent them an email back describing what we were wearing/carrying, times and places we were - basically from 1845hrs until 1920hrs outside the front of the hotel (Sitting or standing).

    Also mentioned the white car that was directly outside the front with the A2B sign, that we approached him and showed him our transfer paperwork. (Luckily he got out of the car to read it better).

    Asked if they could confirm the times we were outside the front, confirm we did speak and show the driver the paper and at what time this happened.

    Once they get back with this confirmation, I'd like to think its case closed!
    • powerful_Rogue
    • By powerful_Rogue 21st Oct 16, 2:49 PM
    • 2,774 Posts
    • 3,987 Thanks
    powerful_Rogue
    Just when I finally thought I was getting somewhere, I got this email today.
    Firstly thank you for your patience with this matter.

    Further to your earlier correspondence, please find the supplier's latest update below:

    The receipt you have sent is for
    30-09-2016 yet the client travelled 29-09-2016.


    The accounts department cannot
    unfortunately accept the receipt.

    As stated above, the current taxi receipt is invalid, therefore as your flight departed on the 29/09/16, can you please re-contact the hotel and request a receipt to coincide with your return flight details.

    Upon receipt we will forward this onto the supplier.
    Really feels like im bashing my head against the wall sometimes! This was what I originally sent to them along with the receipt.



    Link to read bigger text - https://s21.postimg.org/bad0oqhrr/hotel1.png



    Seems like common sense has gone out the window. Now im going to have to contact the hotel again and see if they can get a modified one. Not sure how much further the hotels good will is going to go with assisting me.
    • powerful_Rogue
    • By powerful_Rogue 1st Nov 16, 2:48 PM
    • 2,774 Posts
    • 3,987 Thanks
    powerful_Rogue
    A further update. Received the following today.
    Firstly thank you for your patience with this matter.

    Further to your earlier correspondence, please find the supplier's response below:
    I would firstly like to say again how sorry I am
    are that your customer found cause for complaint whilst they were away
    and that the compliant has dragged on for this long.


    The client mentioned they could not obtain a
    receipt due to language barrier but the then sent a taxi receipt a few
    days later with the date of 30th
    when they travelled on the 29th.


    When we received the receipt from the client
    we called the hotel to verify the cost of taxi from the hotel to the
    airport, the hotel advised it is an average
    of € 50. We cannot refund the taxi claim but we will refund 100% of the
    booking which is £ 74.74 as a gesture of goodwill.


    Please pass our apologies to the client .

    Without Prejudice - To receive the refund of £74.74 in full and final settlement of your complaint with A2B Transfers please would you confirm your acceptance by replying to this email within 28 days of today's date and we must then process the refund to the card used at the time of booking.

    As sunshine.co.uk act as an agent we cannot comment on any response but instead work with you to try and get a resolution that both sides agree on.

    Customer feedback, be it critical or complimentary, is vital to the future success of our business and we appreciate the time you have taken to send us your comments which has given A2B Transfers the opportunity to investigate.
    Failed to answer any of the questions I previously put to the supplier, and that was the outcome of their full investigation.

    My response was as follows:

    Thank you for your response.


    I do not accept the sum of £74.74 as full and final settlement, however I am willing to accept £74.74 as partial settlement.


    I am also concerned regarding the so called investigation the partner is supposed to have carried out.

    The client mentioned they could not obtain a
    receipt due to language barrier but the then sent a taxi receipt a few
    days later with the date of 30th
    when they travelled on the 29th


    Did you not forward onto them the email I sent to the hotel explaining the situation and asking for the hotel to contact the taxi company for a copy of the receipt? This email clearly explains to the hotel the issue of the language barrier and why I was contacting them for their assistance.


    When we received the receipt from the client
    we called the hotel to verify the cost of taxi from the hotel to the
    airport, the hotel advised it is an average
    of € 50.


    This is neither hear nor there. Instead of trying to look for loopholes to escape liability, why did the partner not contact the taxi company to verify that travel took place on the 29th September? This whole situation has become ridiculous and I notice that partner has still not responded to any of the questions previously asked.


    Attached is a response from the hotel regarding the incorrect date on the receipt. This was received 10 days ago, however still no updated receipt has been sent to me. However again, I would like to think on the balance of probabilities a court would decide that the receipt is valid and an error was made by the taxi company with the date.


    By the tone of the response from the partner, it seems I am being accused of fraudulently trying to obtain a refund here. Are they now saying that even with a receipt they would only pay an average amount?


    Please advise what the procedure is from here.
    The screenshot I attached was from an email the hotel sent to me saying:

    The receipt we have sent you is valid but only the date is not.
    Regarding to this issue we will contact with them and request them to make a correction about changing the date.
    From 30.09.2016 to 29.29.2016.
    We will send you correct receipt as soon as possible.

    Best regard.
    • JimmyTheWig
    • By JimmyTheWig 3rd Nov 16, 10:40 AM
    • 11,468 Posts
    • 11,144 Thanks
    JimmyTheWig
    Are you claiming 100 Euros? And they're offering £74?
    Not worth going to court over the difference, is it?
    • steampowered
    • By steampowered 3rd Nov 16, 11:34 AM
    • 546 Posts
    • 474 Thanks
    steampowered
    £74 seems like a reasonable settlement to me. At some point you are going to have to decide whether it is worth taking that and moving on.
    • DoaM
    • By DoaM 3rd Nov 16, 1:00 PM
    • 1,009 Posts
    • 918 Thanks
    DoaM
    Are there not 2 aspects here?

    1. The monies paid already for the transfers
    2. the additional taxi fare

    How much should be due back for item 1, and how much for item 2?

    As a minimum, ALL of item 2 should be refunded.
    Diary of a madman
    Walk the line again today
    Entries of confusion
    Dear diary, I'm here to stay
    • powerful_Rogue
    • By powerful_Rogue 3rd Nov 16, 1:14 PM
    • 2,774 Posts
    • 3,987 Thanks
    powerful_Rogue
    Thanks for the replies.

    Its £100 im claiming which was the cost of getting a last minute taxi to the airport.

    I've already rejected their "goodwill gesture" of £74 and as such was issued a letter of deadlock. The case is now being reviewed by ABTA.
    • powerful_Rogue
    • By powerful_Rogue 3rd Nov 16, 1:15 PM
    • 2,774 Posts
    • 3,987 Thanks
    powerful_Rogue
    Are there not 2 aspects here?

    1. The monies paid already for the transfers
    2. the additional taxi fare

    How much should be due back for item 1, and how much for item 2?

    As a minimum, ALL of item 2 should be refunded.
    Originally posted by DoaM
    My feeling is that it should just be the additional taxi fare. As once they have refunded that,I would have had both journeys covered. (If that makes sense)
    • powerful_Rogue
    • By powerful_Rogue 3rd Nov 16, 11:09 PM
    • 2,774 Posts
    • 3,987 Thanks
    powerful_Rogue
    Well, after reaching a stage of deadlock and Sunshine.co.uk advising the next stage is to complain to ABTA, I did.

    However just received this response from ABTA in relation to my case:

    Thank you for contacting ABTA and for taking the time to raise your case via our website. We’re sorry to hear that you’ve had a problem with your booking and that your complaint remains unresolved.

    When you book your arrangements through a travel agent, their job is to place you in contract with a supplier of services, called the principal. Suppliers can be accommodation only (e.g. hotel, apartment, villa), a flight provider, transfer company or a tour operator, depending on what sort of booking you have arranged with your agent.

    Whilst you booked your travel arrangements through the above company, as your agent, they have placed your booking with a supplier, whose name is shown on your invoice and ATOL Certificate. Unfortunately the supplier is not a member of ABTA, and we’re unable to help you with your complaint.

    Even though you paid your travel agent, it doesn’t mean that you entered into a contract with them. The responsibility of the agent is to collect payment on behalf of the principal (the supplier of your holiday services), and it is the principal you are in a contract with. As your complaint is with a non-ABTA company we would advise you to write to the principal supplier, in the hope that the matter can be resolved or explained to your satisfaction.

    You may find it helpful to contact Citizens Advice consumer helpline on 0345 404 0506, or to seek independent legal advice on how best to pursue the complaint under your contract with them.

    We’re sorry we can’t offer any further assistance, but hope that the above information is useful.
    How utterly pointless. No wonder Sunshine.co.uk kept telling me to take the matter to ABTA.

    If there are any people great at digging out there (looking at you hollydays if you're reading this ) I need help in relation to the transport supplier.

    A2B Transfers. No address etc shown on website and nothing obivious at companies house. When I contacted them via their online form in October, I received an email response from Hoppa.com - Which looks very similar and is registered at companies house.

    Just need some more info as if it gets to the stage of SCC, want to make sure I sent it to the right company.
    • Moneyineptitude
    • By Moneyineptitude 3rd Nov 16, 11:13 PM
    • 17,246 Posts
    • 7,783 Thanks
    Moneyineptitude
    If this were me, I'd have accepted the £75 already offered.

    Do you really think all the additional correspondence will be worth it for £25 more?
    • powerful_Rogue
    • By powerful_Rogue 3rd Nov 16, 11:16 PM
    • 2,774 Posts
    • 3,987 Thanks
    powerful_Rogue
    If this were me, I'd have accepted the £75 already offered.

    Do you really think all the additional correspondence will be worth it for £25 more?
    Originally posted by Moneyineptitude
    For me personally, yes. That £25 is £25 of my money that I shouldn't have had to have paid out.

    Morals and principles also come into it.
    • hollydays
    • By hollydays 4th Nov 16, 7:35 AM
    • 14,587 Posts
    • 10,379 Thanks
    hollydays
    Ceo?
    https://uk.linkedin.com/in/renaldo-scheepers-a81002a4

    Or
    http://www.zoominfo.com/people/Philip/Norris

    https://www.customercare.org/a2b-transfers-complaints
    Dispute resolution service?

    Seems this it's the address
    https://www.endole.co.uk/company/07458796/wwte-limited

    https://www.endole.co.uk/company/07416622/a2bairportparking-limited
    May be the company ??

    See also
    http://download.loveholidays.com/terms/Golf-Bookers-Ltd-A2B-Transfers.pdf
    See this link to the fca-there doesn't appear to be a company in existence with that limited company name and the address is probably wrong now

    https://register.fca.org.uk/ShPo_firmdetailsPage?id=001b000000MfwfmAAB
    Last edited by hollydays; 04-11-2016 at 8:26 AM.
    • steampowered
    • By steampowered 4th Nov 16, 9:31 AM
    • 546 Posts
    • 474 Thanks
    steampowered
    The fee for issuing a small claim of less than £300 is £35. If the case proceeded there would be another hearing fee payable of £25. You'd have to pay these upfront.

    Both of which would exceed the £26 difference between the £100 you are claiming and the £74 you have been offered.

    You would usually get the fees back from the defendant if your claim is successful.
    • powerful_Rogue
    • By powerful_Rogue 4th Nov 16, 11:42 AM
    • 2,774 Posts
    • 3,987 Thanks
    powerful_Rogue
    Thanks hollydays.
    • powerful_Rogue
    • By powerful_Rogue 4th Nov 16, 11:43 AM
    • 2,774 Posts
    • 3,987 Thanks
    powerful_Rogue
    The fee for issuing a small claim of less than £300 is £35. If the case proceeded there would be another hearing fee payable of £25. You'd have to pay these upfront.

    Both of which would exceed the £26 difference between the £100 you are claiming and the £74 you have been offered.

    You would usually get the fees back from the defendant if your claim is successful.
    Originally posted by steampowered
    I'll be claiming the full £100 via SCC. The other costs get added onto the claims, so as you said, would get these back if successful.
Welcome to our new Forum!

Our aim is to save you money quickly and easily. We hope you like it!

Forum Team Contact us

Live Stats

552Posts Today

3,585Users online

Martin's Twitter