Coping With Cancer

Options
As the title says. My Father-in-Law has been diagnosed with terminal lung cancer and I am really struggling to come to terms with it. I am usually a head strong, sensible person but I seem to have fallen to pieces over this. I have noticed myself that I have changed in some way since his diagnosis.

I have already seen my own GP about anxiety that I may have it, since he was diagnosed - stupid I know - but he was displaying no symptoms until his diagnosis and only now he has had his first session of chemo (it is inoperable) has he suddenly looked ill. His prognosis is bleak -18 months if the chemo helps - if he is lucky.

My DH and I are in a permanent state of anxiety, I know that we can't cure him, but I have been very lucky in my life I suppose that I have had no first hand experience of this awful disease so simply don't know what to expect, or how I can help him. I am carrying on as normal around him as gloominess wont help I am sure.

If anyone has any experience of this I would be so grateful

Comments

• Person_one
    Person_one Posts: 28,884 Forumite
    First Post First Anniversary Combo Breaker
    Options
    I'm posting quickly as I only have a minute, but have a look here: http://www.roycastle.org/how-we-can-help/Lung-Cancer-Support-Groups/find-a-local-support-groups.htm

Or at the Macmillan website.

If you ever just want to talk and have a sympathetic ear listen there's always the Samaritans on 08457 90 90 90
  • Aunty-Pickle
    Aunty-Pickle Posts: 499 Forumite
    First Anniversary Name Dropper Combo Breaker First Post
    Options
    Aw, I'm so sorry.

I don't have personal experience of your situation but I do work (admin) with Macmillan nurses. Hopefully he will be assigned a Macmillan nurse - maybe even one who can visit him in his own home (depends on the area I'm afraid in terms of resources/availability).