New telephone scam targeting PC users.

Just a quick heads up, I received a call today from 'Microsoft' claiming that my desktop PC had sent them an error report that they were now following up. Alarm bells immediately started ringing as I know for a fact I hadn't had any error reports sent from my PC in the past 6 months, I never send them, I always refuse when prompted.

Now, my home number is ex-directory so I asked the guy on the other end of the phone how he'd gotten my number. His answer was so funny; I can't believe people are actually falling for this. Apparently, they'd got my number from my IP address, they'd typed it into a 'special Microsoft database' (his exact words) and they'd gotten my contact details from that, I suspect the only thing special about this phone call was the tool on the other end of the phone. A rather idiotic guy calling himself Kevin Kumar.

Now, I'm a web developer and very knowledgeable about computers and knew this was a complete crock, I could smell the BS coming down the phone line. When I confronted him about this and that I knew this was untrue (most people in the UK with standard ISP's don't even have static IP's anyway), he got very rude and very aggressive claiming that I was only a web developer and had no idea what Microsoft could do.

Don't be intimidated by these idiots. It's a scam, they will ask you to go to a website and download some software, after which they will have control of your PC. After searching the internet there is another variation of this scam in which they ask you to confirm whether your PC is running slowly and claim you have a virus already installed on your PC. They will get you to go to a website and install software. Don't do this, under any circumstances.