PLEASE READ BEFORE POSTING

Hello Forumites! However well-intentioned, for the safety of other users we ask that you refrain from seeking or offering medical advice. This includes recommendations for medicines, procedures or over-the-counter remedies. Posts or threads found to be in breach of this rule will be removed.

Making plum jam

Options
My plum tree is overloaded so as I've been going all OS recently, want to make jam to give to friends/family. I'm confused about the pectin - some recipes say add pectin, some don't - do I add or not? And how much sugar (is any type OK, or is one better than another) should I add?

I also don't have a kitchen scale so need to measure using Cup measurements, and average the amount of plums. Can anyone help with a simple recipe that actually works well as it's my first attempt?

Thanks in advance.

Comments

• squeaky
    squeaky Posts: 14,129 Forumite
    First Post Combo Breaker
    Options
    We have a few threads that wander into jam making, but while you're waiting for an expert to show up you might like to read through these...

Help with making jam

Making jam in a microwave

Making jam

:)
    Hi, I'm a Board Guide on the Old Style and the Consumer Rights boards which means I'm a volunteer to help the boards run smoothly and can move and merge posts there. Board guides are not moderators and don't read every post. If you spot an inappropriate or illegal post then please report it to forumteam@moneysavingexpert.com. It is not part of my role to deal with reportable posts. Any views are mine and are not the official line of MoneySavingExpert.
    Never ascribe to malice that which is adequately explained by incompetence.
    DTFAC: Y.T.D = £5.20 Apr £0.50
  • Ted_Hutchinson
    Options
    I don't add pectin to plum jam.
    I use the same weight of sugar to plum
    6lb plum 6lb sugar + One and a half pints water