PLEASE READ BEFORE POSTING

Hello Forumites! However well-intentioned, for the safety of other users we ask that you refrain from seeking or offering medical advice. This includes recommendations for medicines, procedures or over-the-counter remedies. Posts or threads found to be in breach of this rule will be removed.

Need OldStyle Help! ...

Options
Well im new to the DFW board and my shopping bill usually is 320 ish a month for myself partner and 3 children ages 12/8/1 ... anyway alot of the advice has been to try and cut my food bill .. which is great advice but ! ... for the past couple of months ive been writing down my list i write the days down and then a meal for each day and then write my list! anyway it always ends up being 80ish quid a time! ...

Yesterday i was ruthless i wrote my list thought that id do chilli and spag bol in bulk and have each twice in the week..... my shopping came to £58.00 and thats without nappies or veg.. and the only fruit i bought were bananas! ,.. where am i going wrong?

any ideas would be fantastic ... stressful shopper thankyou xxx

oh just to say i always buy value at tescos and my partner reckons it wouldnt be worth going to lidl or aldi because we would use what we save in fuel? ...

thanks for listening xx piratess ;)
Hoping to be a thinner me in 2010!

Comments

• moggins
    moggins Posts: 5,190 Forumite
    Combo Breaker First Post
    Options
    Ouch, that's a lot of money given to Mr T.

You say you are already meal planning, are you making the best use of any leftovers? Using the rubber chicken and bulking out methods?

Without really knowing what you spend on what it's a bit difficult to advise whee to make any changes especially if you say you are already buying value range - how much of that shopping do you end up throwing away every week?

Up until christmas I was shopping for 5 and my bills have never gone above £200 and we eat really well for that.
    Organised people are just too lazy to look for things