How do I buy something from abroad whilst in UK which charges in Euros?

Options
HI,

I was not sure where to post this. if this is wrong place please direct me to correct section of forum please:

It is simple question. There is some item I want to buy abroad (I live in the UK) which charges Euros. I do not have a clue what to do.

Obviously I will do the purchase online via my debit card, but how does this work? Is the transfer from pound sterling to euro automatically done after I put my number etc in?

What about different rates? Do I not have that option?

All I want to do is get on with it, but am not sure what to even Google to inquire into this.

I did ask the company I am going to buy the item from but did nopt receive a reply. I just feel people think I should know what to do, but I have never done this before.
Can anyone help?

Comments

• Tealblue
    Tealblue Posts: 929 Forumite
    First Post First Anniversary Combo Breaker I've been Money Tipped!
    edited 17 October 2016 at 1:08AM
    Options
    Assuming the seller will accept a UK debit card payment, you pay using that and your bank will convert at their prevailing rate and may also charge you for a 'foreign' transaction. Ring the customer care number on the back of the card for more info.

Paypal may be a better option, not least because you can see the conversion rate being applied.
  • Chickabiddybex
    Options
    If it's something you want regardless of risking a poor exchange rate then just go ahead and buy it - if you have Visa Debit it will likely accept it (usually websites show the symbols of which cards they accept).