Laminate vs Vinyl vs Karndean

Options
Hi All

After debating whether to have carpets or hardwood floor in the downstairs of our house we have decided on hardwood.

I've never lived with a hardwood floor before and I'm struggling to understand the differences between laminate, vinyl and karndean. I know karndean is more expensive but what are the benefits to it? And whats the differences between vinyl and laminate?

Comments

• dunroving
    dunroving Posts: 1,881 Forumite
    First Anniversary Name Dropper Photogenic First Post
    Options
    Hi All

After debating whether to have carpets or hardwood floor in the downstairs of our house we have decided on hardwood.

I've never lived with a hardwood floor before and I'm struggling to understand the differences between laminate, vinyl and karndean. I know karndean is more expensive but what are the benefits to it? And whats the differences between vinyl and laminate?

I'm no expert, but can share what I have learned in researching for a new floor.

Hardwood is wood. Most expensive of your options, generally. Engineered wood is cheaper.
    Takes some care and attention, and depending on how picky you are, can be damaged by high heels, etc. Personally, I think this is what gives old floor character.

Laminate is like fake wood planks - can look very good, but cheap stuff can look pretty, well, cheap.

Vinyl comes as looselay (one-piece sheets, similar to carpet), glue-down, or click-fit. Karndean is simply one of the more expensive choices among the various vinyl suppliers. Decent quality vinyl is probably the most durable and low-maintenance. Quality is partly determined by thickness of the vinyl tile/plank, and thickness of the "wear layer" (that's the bit that has the pattern on it).

That's the basic story; I'm sue further details will be forthcoming.
    (Nearly) dunroving
  • Keep_pedalling
    Options
    None of those options you have mentions are actually hardwood.
  • jackieblack