Question about Alexa

Options
I work as a family support worker and have a lady who has come to rely on Alexa due to several health issues she has which affect her memory. She currently has Alexa through a university research project but this means that when the research comes to an end she won't have Alexa anymore. I'm not technically minded at all but the lady said she has a dongle which enables her to use Alexa. She does not have internet at home and is worried that it would cost too much.

What I want to know is what the most cost effective way would be for her to continue having Alexa? Thanks!

Comments

• Neil_Jones
    Neil_Jones Posts: 8,913 Forumite
    First Anniversary Name Dropper First Post
    Options
    Alexa AFAIK doesn't do anything without an internet connection aside from complain that it can't get online. You may be able from what I've seen get it to talk to a Bluetooth speaker but that's probably about it.

You could always just grab the cheapest data PAYG Sim (o2 or Three), tether the Echo device or whatever to that in a mobile phone as a hotspot since it connects tirelessly and see how far you get with £10 - just top it up as and when. That's probably what the dongle does, but that needs a computer or laptop to use. However one would need to remember to top this up so it may not be the best solution in this case.

Otherwise it's a case of a traditional internet line. If your client is in receipt of certain benefits BT Basic and Broadband could be an option as that caps the entire lot at £9.95 a month:
    https://btplc.com/inclusion/ProductsAndServices/BTBasic/BTBasicBroadband/index.htm
  • [Deleted User]
    Options
    The BT Basic service limits it to 15GB a month which isn't an awful lot so it would depend on what Alexa was used for and what it does in the background. If her demands justify it and the lady can manage it then a basic ADSL broadband at £20 a month or less may be a better option.
  • Neil_Jones