Help! basic advice needed.

Options
Hi everyone,
I've had a browse through and dont think my questions has been answered, but sorry if they have. I tried posting this on the newbie sticky thread, but only saw an option to reply to someones post, not start your own query, so sorry if this is in the wrong place.

I am in my final year in uni, graduate in June and will start full time work soon after. I have a bit of a money shortfall, so was planning to get a credit card to use between now and July when I should have some money coming in, but I literally have no idea about credit cards!

How do they work, at a really basic level? Do I get one, use it, and get a bill at the end of each month, then decide how much to pay off?

Everything seems to advertise having 0% on balance tranfers, but I have no other cards, apart from my debit card for my current account. I also don't really understand interest, does it only apply if you don't pay off your balance in full? I wont be able to pay much for a couple of months, but am hoping to pay it off quickly when I have some money coming in June/July. Does that mean I will be stung by interest?

As you have probably gathered I am clueless, so I would be very grateful if someone could recommend the best card for my sitiuation, and explain the process.

Thanks x

Comments

• adaze
    adaze Posts: 623 Forumite
    First Anniversary Combo Breaker
    Options
    Try this article

But in short. You get the card. Make a purchase. At the end of the month [or period, i.e. 30ish days] you get a statement with a due by date. You then make a payment of at least the minimum by the due date. Interest is applied. And it carries on this way.

It sounds like you would be best applying for a card that has a 0% purchase offer. That way you only have to pay the minimum for the offer period and accrue no interest. Hopefully by the end of the offer you will be earning and can pay it off in full without paying any interest.
  • agsnu