Gas and Electrics

Options
We are in the process of purchasing a house that has been repossessed. From the little information we have we know that it's got a combi boiler (good thing) and it has central heating through out the house. We are absolute novices when it comes to GCH and most things Gas. Because we don't know any thing about the condition of the system we wanted to get it all checked out by a Corgi registered engineer. Would a normal gas check be sufficient or should we be doing something different.

We don't have a lot of money to spend especially as we need the electrics to be completely checked out as well which brings me onto the other heading. From what we can see the electrics seem to have been replaced as the switch boxes and wiring has been moved but we are not sure about the cost of getting everything checked out. It's a 3 bed semi in Dorset built in the 1960's. We are also having to replace all the light fittings which hopefully we will be able to do ourselves.

Comments

• phill99
    phill99 Posts: 9,093 Forumite
    First Anniversary First Post
    Options
    Don't skimp on inspections of Gas or electrics. Fpor the gas, I would suggest calling 2 or 3 CORGI guys and asking them for the prices of a Safety Certificate and Service. The service is like what you have on a car - it makes sure that everyting is running smoothly. The Safety Cert is exactly that. It proves that all gas appliances are safe and what you need to do to bring them up to standard. Round her (Essex /East London a Gas Safety Cert and Service is anything from £85 to £120 plus the cost of labour and parts if anything is needed to bring it up to scratch. The Electrical Safety Cert should be £125 - £150 and again speak to a few electricians to get prices. Ask friends, families and neighbours who they use and who they can recommend.
    Eat vegetables and fear no creditors, rather than eat duck and hide.
  • ukwoody
    ukwoody Posts: 531 Forumite
    Options