isa advice needed

Options
hello please could you advise me as i am new to isas. i opened my first mini isa with first direct today. i used this bank as i bank with them already and i wanted to place my money in by the end of this tax year, so this was the quickest option. not sure if i have done the right thing? would it have been better to place the money in for next years tax year , as i wont make much interest on 2007 / 2008 tax year as there are only 6 days left.or have i done the right thing and then add to it for next tax year? help please !:eek: s.gif

Comments

• 10_66
    10_66 Posts: 3,269 Forumite
    Name Dropper Photogenic First Anniversary First Post
    Options
    Not sure what the First Direct ISA rate is, but as far as opening an ISA goes, you haven't done the wrong thing in opening one, eventhough there are only a few days left. For 08/09, you're best opening an ISA as early as you can, to maximise the amount of interest you can earn. Check out other providers ISA rates before you add to your First Direct to see how they compare. Some links attached. You can transfer an existing ISA to another ISA provider (subject to the T&C's of your existing ISA and as long as the new provider permits transfers in of existing ISA's). You may wish to do this for a more favourable interest rate.

http://forums.moneysavingexpert.com/showthread.html?t=401374

http://www.moneysupermarket.com/Savings/Default.asp?p=0

http://www.moneyfacts.co.uk/savings/bestbuys/default.aspx
  • Zeusiblue
    Zeusiblue Posts: 298 Forumite
    First Post First Anniversary Combo Breaker
    Options