Combined Insurance Company of America?? Pls advise

Options
13»

Comments

• Bigsmak
    Bigsmak Posts: 188 Forumite
    First Anniversary Combo Breaker
    Options
    I just met with a client who has a policy with Combined Insurance.. I was wondering if anyone's opinion of them has changed in the last few years since this thread was here
    I work in finance

Anything posted on this forum is for discussion purposes only and should not be considered financial advice. If you feel an area discussed may be relevant to you, then please seek advice from an Independent Financial Adviser who can advise you after finding out more about your situation
  • DHM_2
    Options
    The debate is settled....:T

The Financial Services Authority (FSA) has today fined Combined Insurance Company of America (CICA) £2.8 million for failing to embed fully a culture that ensured its customers were treated fairly. CICA has agreed to carry out a review of past business to identify any customer detriment and pay redress.
    CICA sold accident and sickness insurance products via self-employed sales agents. During the period investigated by the FSA (1 April 2008 to 26 October 2010) CICA had 542,133 policyholders and received £47 million in premiums for new policies sold. Its customers were typically self-employed, small business owners or manual workers.
    In August 2010, as a result of concerns the FSA had about CICA's business, the FSA required the firm to undertake a skilled persons (Section 166) report to examine CICA's governance and controls framework. The firm subsequently agreed to cease writing any new business from 26 October 2010.
    The FSA found that CICA breached FSA Principle 3 (management and control) and Principle 6 (customers' interests) by failing to manage effectively its sales processes, claims handling and complaints handling to ensure the fair treatment of its customers. The FSA identified systemic failings across much of CICA's business. In particular: