Ideas for card craft beginner

Options

Comments

• polly1976
    polly1976 Posts: 845 Forumite
    Options
    well my attempt at using tissue paper on my cards was a disaster so back to the drawing board lol im just fed up of doing the same thing any ideas??
  • mumoftwo
    mumoftwo Posts: 1,903 Forumite
    First Anniversary Combo Breaker
    Options
    What is it you're after? background papers? Brads, gems, flowers, techniques? punches, stamping?
    Sent you a pm.
  • Luna69
    Luna69 Posts: 409 Forumite
    Options
    Hi
    I've been making cards for many years now as a hobby and a small business, but it still remains mainly a hobby for me. I used to use tissue paper a fair bit, either covering squares of card to make mini parcels/presents, as a background, similar to the foil only just on plain card and adding glitter in the glue/water when wet.. the card can buckle a bit though, I also just used it as it is as a background paper, I had some with a text on that was nice. I also covered thin card and cut shapes out with it, balloons etc.

I spent years collecting recycled bits and making my own embellishments, I rarely buy manufactured embellishments other than flowers really. I love ribbons, eyelets, buttons, papers etc. I used to take buttons and crystals off old clothing until I just got too much. I do still keep some things if I think they're interesting and I can use it and just not store it.

Oh with tissue paper you could also make mini bouquets, with small flowers, I last bought some on ebay, you can wrap them in the tissue like a bunch?
    Cut it into strips and layer it as a background or weave it?

Yvonne
  • polly1976
    Options
    I dont know really ive just been doing basic stuff never used brads or punches etc i think im scared of doing somthing im not used 2 if you know wot i mean ive also sent you a pm xx
  • mumoftwo
    Options