Gas central heating on constant or timer?

Options

Comments

• prosaver
    prosaver Posts: 7,026 Forumite
    First Anniversary Combo Breaker
    edited 28 January 2012 at 10:46AM
    Options
    I have been running this experiment for more than 10 years now, in 3 different homes!

The proof is this simple - I have Gas bills at least 30% lower than anyone else I know in a similar property, and 70% lower than some.

I leave the central controls to 'on' for heating (not water) 24/7. I work at home, and my wife is a homemaker - the property is occupied most of the time, most days (and we still have much lower gas bills than families who are all out of their homes monday through friday from 8am until 6pm!!!)

The Thermostat downstairs is set to 19 or 20 degrees - upstairs never above 15 degrees. When we pop out, and when we go to bed, downstairs stat is also set to 15. (edit: Must say at this stage, on the boiler, both the water and radiator temperatiures are set right at the lowest end of the 'recommended' settings)

In the depths of winter (last year we had -19degrees, yes minus ninteen) the downstairs stat was set to 22 and upstairs still at 15.

When we go away for a number of days, all stats are set at 10-12 to stop the house becoming too cold to reheat (and keeping the cats from turning to ice).

As for Hot water, I have always used a timer - 20 minutes in the morning before we rise, and a ten minute boost around dinner time. We rarely (once every 2-3 months on the occassion when everyone wants a shower / bath at the same time) run out of hot water, and if we do I use the GCH boost - NEVER the immersion heater.

So, you can continue to use your laws of physics and gas company marketing jingo-jango - but using your termostats to manage your enery use is much more effective and efficient than letting the temperature yo-yo by 10-12 degres (at least ) 2 or 3 times a day.
    :T:T:T