🗳️ ELECTION 2024: THE MSE LEADERS' DEBATE Got a burning question you want us to ask the party leaders ahead of the general election? Post them on our dedicated Forum board where you can see and upvote other users' questions, or submit your suggestions via this form. Please note that the Forum's rules on avoiding general political discussion still apply across all boards.

housing & council tax benefit help wanted please.........

Options
Hi, I'm a lurker and reader on most boards and everyones really helpful :T and I could really do with some advice from those in the know please, my story goes something like this.......

... I suffer with reactive arthritis, it comes and goes every few years, it flared up in september last year and is still giving me trouble now I'm a car mechanic and this obviously makes doing my job difficult, I went off sick in september and was awarded Income support ( they said I wasn't entitled to Incapacity Benefit ) I was also awarded full housing and council tax benefit.

My G.f works p.t and she has 1 child ( under 16 )

In december I was checking paperwork and noticed an old p60 had been filled in wrong and When I spoke with my tax office they ammened the records which inturn meant I qualified for I.B, great I thought, thats £20 a week extra and it helped greatly towards xmas, In january I was told from my council that the I.s had stopped and I had to reapply for c.t & h.b, I did that but now they are saying that I'm not entitled to any housing benefit and only £2 a week c.t.

so this leaves me with over £500 arrears in rent and £300 c.t :eek:

my income p.week is -

£88.00 o.h wages
£53.00 w.t.c
£44.00 c.t.c
£61.35 I.b
£18.10 c.b

does this seem like to much to claim any housing benefit? It just seems unfair that the total incomes only gone up by £20 p.wk but we're £60 p.wk worse off since getting I.b

any thoughts or words of wisdom will be appreciated because it's not looking good at the moment:o