🗳️ ELECTION 2024: THE MSE LEADERS' DEBATE Got a burning question you want us to ask the party leaders ahead of the general election? Post them on our dedicated Forum board where you can see and upvote other users' questions, or submit your suggestions via this form. Please note that the Forum's rules on avoiding general political discussion still apply across all boards.

Tax Query

Options
I am an University student. I have had occasional jobs but do not have any permanent jobs. I do not have NI number, they usually give me a temporary number everytime i do a job.

I got a letter today from the HM & Customs saying i may have to pay tax this year and if i have to then i have to notify my bank. Otherwise, they will send me a tax bill after next April for the tax i should have paid on the interest.

From last April till now, i would have probably earned ~1000 pounds which is less than 5000+ that is required before i get taxed. In that case, I am sure i should not be taxed. So, am i right saying that this is a standard letter and i can just ignore it?

Thanks in adv!

Comments

• superstar_2
    superstar_2 Posts: 2,104 Forumite
    Options
    anyone? BUMP
  • smithson55
    Options
    Never ignore a letter from HMR&C, superstar, if it opens a door (even one that should be shut) to paying tax. I suggest a letter back to them (always keep copies) setting out your income in the tax year, including any bank interest, mentioning whether tax was deducted or it was paid gross.
    Have I been helpful? The Thanks button is just here :T
    >
  • [Deleted User]
    Options
    Start off by calling your local tax office for advice and let them know of your income. Always keep P45's and P60's!
  • superstar_2
    Options
    Just to clarify this so that i can get more advice. All i received was a leaflet but it had my name and address on it.